Carrot Kheera Chutney | TummyKhush


I keep talking a lot about fridge raid recipes to use up left over veggies in the fridge. For a change I am gonna talk about a recipe that I’d love to make after finishing my shopping trip. I can’t resist filling up my cart with fresh veggies when I go shopping. I love the sights and smells of fresh produce in the market. After one particular shopping trip, I had some fresh carrots and cucumbers and a brain wave…to make something with a combination of these two. Since both of them were fresh, I didn’t want to cook and spoil those awesome flavours. And I was planning to make dosas for dinner. So chutney it was. I simply took the basic principles of chutney making and instead of sauteing the veggies which is the normal method, I simply used them raw and voila a new recipe was born. It is still one of my favourite chutney recipes and I am proud to say it is completely my baby from conception to completion.

WP_000776

Here is how I made this carrot kheera chutney.

Ingredients:

Fresh carrot : 1 medium size peeled and chopped
Fresh lemon cucumber or kheera : 1 small peeled and chopped
Coriander leaves: few chopped
If you would like to use the stems too, just add them to the tempering

For the tempering:

Bengal gram dal/senaga pappu/chana dal : 2tsp
Urad dal/minappa pappu :2 tsp
Fenugreek seeds/methi : 1/4 tsp(optional)
Mustard seeds : 1/2 tsp
Cumin seeds/jeera : 1 tsp
Dry red chillies : 4 to 5
Hing/asafotida: 1/4 tsp
Turmeric powder : 1/4 tsp
Green chillies: 2 to 3  add more if you like spice
Lemon juice : of half a lemon or as per taste (You could use tamarind extract too)

To prepare the tempering:

Heat some oil in a pan. When the oil is hot enough add the  bengal gram dal and allow to fry. Add the udad dal too. When both the dals change colour, add the fenugreek seeds. After they have fried a bit, add the mustard seeds, cumin seeds and red chillies. Once all the ingredients are fried sufficiently, add turmeric and asafoetida powders.Add green chillies and allow all ingredients to fry. Turn off the heat and allow the tempering to cool

To prepare the chutney:

Once the tempering is cooled, powder the tempering in a mixie or a blender.
Add the chopped carrots and blend again till the carrots are coarsely chopped.
Now add the kheera pieces, coriander leaves, salt and lemon juice and blend once more till you get consistency of your choice.

WP_000781

Serve with hot rice or with a tiffin of  your choice.

Leave a Reply

